Current Series



Trends: When the Ancient Church Meets Today’s Church
A Study on the Seven Churches in Revelation

The book of Revelation conveys Jesus’ final words to the church: It opens with Jesus, through the Spirit, inspiring John to write prophetic letters to seven churches. They were addressed to the churches in Ephesus - the unfaithful church; Smyrna - the suffering church; Pergamum - the worldly church; Thyatira - the tolerant church; Sardis - the dead church; Philadelphia - the faithful church; and Laodicea - the lukewarm church. There are many things we can learn from the past to help us in the present and the future as we venture into our journey of faith as God’s church.

Jesus promises that He will build and sustain His church, and through people like you and me and through the local church, the message of the Gospel will go forward throughout the world until He returns. From Scripture, we will examine such things as:

  • Who were the recipients of these letters?

  • How were they read and understood in ancient times?

  • Why do these letters matter today?

  • What can we learn from these ancient letters that we can apply to our personal lives as well as corporately to our church?

You don’t want to miss this exciting and revealing series during September and October.